My plans for the week…

So, after reading one of my new favorite blogs My Child I Love You…I have decided to give up the computer for Lent…This means I will only be on here on Sundays, which are days of Celebration in the Catholic church…I am also hoping to teach my boys more about our Catholic faith, so wanted to post my plans here and will post pictures on Sundays of the preceeding week…I got this idea from my other new favorite blog, Shower or Roses…both of these women have inspired me as a Catholic homeschooling mom…

Shrove Tuesday/Fat Tuesday/Pancake Tuesday/Mardi Gras…lots of name for one thing 🙂  the day before Lent…Traditionally my family makes pancakes…so that is the plan for dinner…I saw a fun idea to color them purple, yellow, and green for Mardi Gras…not sure hubby will want his colored, but I know the boys will love it…I also plan to make a king cake using cinnamon rolls, the easy way to do it 🙂  I have also printed an eagle mask for the boys to make and a king cake game

On Ash Wednesday I am hoping to go to mass, but all three times tend to conflict with something…maybe my mom can take Jacob in the  morning and I can go in the evening…looks to be the only way it will work…For dinner I plan to make Ash Wednesday Beans (Black Beans and Rice), really it looks like red beans and rice, just with black beans instead to represent the black ashes…

We will also be starting some Lentan activities today…I saw a beautiful idea for a Jesus tree and ran with it…Rather than ordering the kit I am going to use branches from our yard and have already made and gotten some “ornaments” from the local Catholic store…I need to find a store that sells charms for bracelets to get the others or just make them…

Another activity we will be doing is a Lent Lap Book…My sons have done a few and I hope they have fun with it…we will take our time working on this so that it isn’t crammed in…I do still need time for Classical Conversations with my oldest…

I need to go pick up Rice Bowls from the church…my oldest missed Sunday School the day they were passed out due to a gymnastics meet…For the younger two everyday we will choose something to count and then each boy will put that many pennies in their rice bowl…Jacob will get one penny for each page he reads about a saint…I also plan to pull one item from the pantry each day to donate to the base or local food bank…

There are other ideas over at Shower of Roses, but I am trying to not over do it and burn myself out already…maybe next year I can add to them…

I can’t wait to get started…I have been printing pictures for the boys to color…acticity pages for Jacob and lots of other fun things…I hope I can keep this up…my older two already show such a love for Jesus and I just want it to grow and grow…

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

